Thresholds to Bring a Liability Claim – Minnesota vs. Wisconsin

By Tom Weidner | Personal Injury

Automobile insurance liability coverage is provided through the negligent driver’s insurance in which an injured person makes a claim for “pain and suffering.” Both Minnesota and Wisconsin require motor vehicle owners to carry minimum liability coverage. However, when it comes to making claims there are different state requirements that need to be met before making a claim.

Minnesota (Minimum coverage $30,000/$60,000)

1. At fault driver was more than 50% negligent;
2. Tort threshold was met:

  • $4,000 in medical treatment (does not include diagnostic care such as x-rays);
  • Permanent disability;
  • Permanent disfigurement;
  • 60 days disability;
  • Death occurred.

3. The claim was brought within the statute of limitations.

Wisconsin (Minimum coverage $25,000/$50,000)

1. At fault driver was more the 50% negligent;
2. Injury occurred (no thresholds);
3. The claim was brought within the statute of limitations.


we can help!

CONTACT US TODAY IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS TOPIC OR IF WE CAN ASSIST YOU WITH YOUR PERSONAL INJURY NEEDS.

Fill out the form below, or call our Stillwater, MN office at 651-429-2878 or Hudson, WI office at 715-386-3733.


This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyze your use of our website, and assist with our promotional and marketing efforts. Read our Privacy Policy for more information.